My first photos

SteveEllis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Guys,

I am very new to photography, I've had cameras for years but only used them for the average snap. Recently I was given a Canon EOS 300, I must admit that the myriad of controls is still a little over whelming.

These are my first photos
CNV000161131980595.jpg

In this one I was trying to use the bridge as the focus point

CNV000171131980665.jpg

This one I wanted to show the path disappearing into the woodland

CNV000181131980709.jpg

I walk past these gates a lot but dont stop to look often, more of a general shot.

CNV000191131980762.jpg

Again this one was just a general shot.

Constructive criticism is welcomed.

I've looked at TonyWorkShop close up water photos and thought they were awesome, I would like to try a few of those, how do you get such a close up?

I'm going to some waterfalls tomorrow, any tips? I would really like to catch the waterfall at a stand still so you can see the beads of water, I've tried a few shots at 1/2000 but they come out black :confused:

Cheers Guys,
Steve.

welcome to TPF Steve!

first off i would maintain a space or two between each pic...it'll be easier for all to view
nice compositions but they all seem a bit stark and overexposed. do you have the settings available to share with us?
looks like a great place to shoot :)

Done :) Also added a few comments.

How do you mean stark and over exposed? What changes would you make and why?

The lens is a Tamron HOYA 58mm UV(0) with 80x focus

The dial has ISO, A-DEP, M, Av, Tv, P, L(lock), Full Auto, Portrait, Landscape, close, sport and night scene.

These are quite nice. Hang around the forum and pick up a good book on photography skills and you'll be shooting like a pro in no time ;)