My first portrait shot i took, Please critique

651stp

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My first photo + edit. Please critique nicely :p i only got my camera 3 days ago and im still learning. Any constructive critizm will be appreciated!

Why don't you start off by telling us what you think is good about this photo, and what you think could be improved.

We could fire off a bunch of comments and critiques, but if you've only had your camera three days, it really wouldn't be fair to you.

well for me personally, i like the photo the way it is but i'd just like to know what i could have done to improve it more? comopisition wise? is the color and exposure done right?

rule of thirds for something like this and shallow depth of field. my eye is drawn to the fence next to her face instead of her face. Best advice is to read up on rules of compositon and your manual.

Composition isn't so bad, though I'm sure there is someone that's going to pipe up about the fact that her head is chopped off. I don't mind it though. You've done good by not allowing the nose to break the plane of the face.

You've got a good exposure, perhaps a half stop over exposed or so.

You've used a nice DOF for the composition.

But your processing needs a little work. The WB is a bit green.

wow great feedback guys, i will definently do some more reading and keep it in mind on my next shoot in vegas! should i have put the model a little further from the fence and blown the fence out a bit more?

should i have put the model a little further from the fence and blown the fence out a bit more?

I'm not sure what you mean... and I'm guessing due to your beginner status, you probably don't know what you mean either.

Concentrate on getting good exposures and learning your camera first. Then worry about the rest.

i will keep trying :\ thanks for the constructive critisizm!