Narrowing down camera choices.....

grant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm planning on buying an entry level used SLR digital camera. This is pretty much for hobby. I'm a student getting into film/video production, so thats more of my area of knowledge and learning. However I want to get a digital camera and by knowing so much about exposure, focus, etc I just can't bring myself to get a point and shoot.

My budget is $300 - $500. But I'm hoping not to go too much over $400. The camera's I'm looking at are:

1) Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT (leaning towards this one)
2) Nikon d40

It looks like I could get both for around $400 used on ebay, either buying just body then a lens or both together. Figured that I just get one lens to play around with for now and add on more during the summer as I learn more about the camera and what I want from it.

Is there any other advice or camera suggestions other than these two?

Those are both great entry level DSLR's, but I would check your local Craigslist before buying on Ebay if you're going the used route. That way you can see the camera in person and give it a thorough check before you purchase. I've seen D40 kits in my area sell for $300-400 lightly used with kit lens and memory card.

Both cameras are great! You really can't go wrong with either. Although I'm with you leaning towards the Canon system (don't listen to the people telling you to save up for an XSi or some crap like that), keep in mind that you MIGHT be able to find a NEW camera for $400. Like here's a refurb. But it has warranty I believe. And you'll know where it was last...lol.

0206B011 Canon " Refurbished " Chrome Digital Rebel XT SLR Camera Body Kit with EFS 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens

25420B Nikon D40 6.1 Megapixel Digital SLR Camera 3X Zoom Kit Outfit, with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Zoom Nikkor Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.