Need help critiquing my photo

gossamer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I'm a relative novice, and need help understanding why I can't get the exact shot I'm looking for here. I have a D300 with a 35mm prime lens, an SB700 with a Gary Fong collapsible diffuser, and the soft-white LCD kitchen lights, and trying to learn about food photography. This is a cinnamon-raisin bread I baked, and would like to present it in the best possible way. I have a very tough skin, so give it to me. As long as it's constructive, I'll take your advice seriously. I have a number of questions that I hoped you all could help me to answer.

First, what do you think of the composition? Is it attractive?

I'm trying to blur the background, yet get as much detail of the bread in focus as possible. Perhaps this isn't the right lens for this? I've tried every conceivable angle to get this right. Notice the bottom of the picture isn't fully in focus.

I've tried auto-area focus, as well as single-point, yet the area of focus only seems to be the portion of the picture that's inside of the oval in the viewfinder. Is that to be expected? Somehow I was thinking the full area that's viewable within the viewfinder can be the focus, but it's only those maximum 51 points, correct?

Does this mean I have to get my subject to fit within that oval in order for it to be in focus?

Or is this instead more of a depth-of-field issue? I've tried various apertures from f1.8 through f4, and haven't been able to get the foreground in focus while blurring the background, and also get enough detail in the bread without having to stand back too far. This is a new lens for me, and I'm not even sure if I understand how to use it fully.

$40_raisin_bread-4.jpg$40_raisin_bread-3.jpg

$40_raisin_bread-2.jpg$40_raisin_bread-1.jpg

Other people will help you with technicalities, I'll comment on other things