Need help deciding witch camera to purchase

olmiss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

For a few months now I have been wanting to buy a new camera and was not sure which kind to get.

Today I got the Canon PowerShot SX120 IS but was skeptical because it uses AA batteries and I was told that was a no go. (I have 14 days to return it)

If you guys could help me find the best camera for me, I'd really appreciate it!

I want to take semi-pro pics - I'm a graphic designer so I know this is a good skill to have. But, I want something small enough to fit a purse so it can serve multi functions - to use for semi - pro pics and as a camera to take out for a night on the town.

Need something that takes clear pictures at night especially and has a great zoom. I heard 10 and up is good?

I also did not want to spend more than $500 - No more than $300 is ideal. I really like the Canon but I don't like how it uses AA batteries.

Thanks in advance.

Yes, regular AA batteries tend to lose their charge faster than lithium batteries.

You might want to wait until March when the Sony SX5V camera comes out and take a look at it, because it has tons of features and is in your price range.

25mm to 250mm lens
10 frames per second burst mode
built in GPS and compass to indicate where pic was taken and what direction photographer was facing
WIFI connectivity
HDMI connectivity
hi speed USB port
built in HDR shooting and blending
built in Panorama shooting and stitching
twilight mode to reduce picture noise through high speed shooting and blending images in extremely low light
10 megapixels

skieur

Just buy rechargeable AA battery's. As long as you charge them before you go out it will be fine. I have a sx10 is and have no problems with using AA.

Just buy rechargeable AA battery's. As long as you charge them before you go out it will be fine. I have a sx10 is and have no problems with using AA.