Need help on body choice

John_Scarpa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good evening everyone,

I'm currently trying to figure out which direction to go with a new body. My D300 is really starting to show its age, and is in need of an update. Its currently my only body right now so it would become my second body to shoot with.

My shooting style is nearly 100% photojournalism. So anything from sports, music, town hall meetings, and features. My D300 keeps up fine with everything I do, but above 1600iso is kicking my butt since I started shooting for a magazine on the side.

The real hang up I'm encountering is on my current lenses. Right now I have a 70-200 2.8, 17-55 2.8, and a 50 1.4. If I make the swap to a full frame, that 17-55 might just have to be permanently attached to the D300 since its a DX lens.

Budget is also a concern as well. My budget is probably going to be around 1,000-1,500 when I make the purchase which should be towards the end of the year unless I find a screaming deal somewhere.

What I've been eyeing so far is a used D3s, D500, or just maybe a D4. My thought process is that the D500 would probably be the best choice mainly due to the 17-55. I really don't have the money to sell it and attempt to pick up a 24-70 right now. The D4 would be great once they drop in price, but if I had to throw the 17-55 on there it would still produce something useable. The d3s would be an issue with the 17-55 dropping down the image size too much so my 70-200 would live on the D3s and 17-55 would live on the d3oo till it finally goes down on me.

So what are everyone else's thoughts on this dilemma?

Thanks!

D300...ancient sensor technology compared to ANYTHING made weith a Sony EXMOR-generation sensor...the D3s was decent..the D3x super...the D800 super..the D600 or D60 suoper, the D750 super...