New 60D Buying Options

trptmitch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I'm new to the DSLR scene and I will be purchasing my first DSLR (a Canon 60D) in the next week or two. I've been going back and forth on which lens to get and where to purchase it from. For the lenses, I've been looking into the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens and the EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens. I know that the 135 would be a better option to go with, but I'm struggling with the extra cost for now. So I might just go with the 55 for now until I learn the basics of my camera and then upgrade in a few months/years.

As far as where to buy, I have a really cool camera shop here where I live that I know would give me great after-purchase assistance. After pricing everything out, it would be about $150 cheaper to buy everything new from B&H than it would to buy it from the local shop. Has anyone had anything other than good experience with B&H? Also, how valuable is buying local vs. saving money on the buy?

Thanks for your input!

I'd trust B&H over any camera store, but you could save way more by buying used on eBay or Craigslist.

Good to know. Thanks!

I debated with buying used for a while, but I get really uneasy on trusting someone I don't know with how they treated the equipment. I like to take care of things and keep them pristine for as long as possible. Call me picky...

I appreciate your input on B&H, Thanks!

I don't really like to buy used gear when it comes to digital photography and although some of my friends have done pretty sweet deals on ebay or CL I've never felt comfortable buying there. I did buy a couple of lenses on keh.com and I've been very pleased with them. Their tech staff check the items and they give a score (excellent, bargain etc.) which is in my experience very trustworthy.

I hear there's a rumor out that a 70D might be coming out this month, wonder if prices will drop on the 60D?