New & Already Venting

NRP_Studios

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Okay, so I am not new to photography, however I am new to this sight. I wanted to ask the opinions of other photographers. I did a shoot a month ago for a very demanding client. (RED FLAG ALERT) They didn't "like" any of the other photogs work in town so they called me up (500 miles away). I live in NE but I am from CO so I "didn't mind" making the travel. I talked myself into thinking it was a vacation with family rather than work. I was wrong. They Asked for high use of HDR and Digitally Enhanced effects. I'm talking about taking the original photo and making it look absolutely nothing like the original. I suffered through numerous phone calls, emails, messages, you name it. The people were never satisfied with what I produced. Hours were spend in photoshop, online researching "how to's". FINALLY I produced ONE photo of the 300 taken, that they "LIKED". I let them post it to their website and social networks and they got raving reviews and my social network "likes" went up. However I randomly stopped the site and noticed my work was re-edited. Football jerseys were added to all the people in the photo. OMG I about died. Although it was not a "bad" photoshop of Jerseys it was still hard to cope with the fact that I worked like a dog to get them something they liked, and they just threw some other effects over it and posted it to their site. I am VERY passive (not proud of it) and don't know how to handle the situation. Note: the people who ordered this session are very well known in the community. How should I handle it? Yes I work with contracts, however I gave them a copyright rather than a print release. I can attach the form if need be. However, should I suck it up as a learning lesson?

On the one hand popular work that isn't your own but is being advertised as your own could be a pain as it would be miss-representing your own work and style.