Nikon d300s or d7000?

Lunchbox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am looking to sell my gripped d200 soon and really wanted a d700 but i have so many dx lenses that i love i figured i would just stay with the crop sensors.

I am just looking for advice on which you would recommend D300, D300s, d7000

I have some experience with the d300 but not much, none with 300s and 7000, i really like the dual card slots on the 7000 and 300s

I do mostly automotive style shooting, racing etc...

I personally recommend you buy the best (normally most expensive) body you can afford.

I have been hearing all the hype about the d7000 just wondering if there is any truth to it

the main thing i want is better battery life and better ISO performance

Technically the D7000 is a better camera IMO than the D300S.

D7000: ISO 6400(not Hi) not +16MP and dual SD slots
D300S: ISO 3200(not Hi), 13MP and 1 compact slot and one SD slot

There various other differences not mentioned. Seems like the D7000 is the winner to me.

I had the chance to play with both the d300s and the d7000. After testing the d7000 a bit more, I ordered the d7000 in a heartbeat.

I have both the D300s and D7000, there are things the D300s has that the D7000 does not - such as a larger buffer and 9 shot bracketing.

That said, I'm reluctantly selling my D300s now to get new glass. The D7000 performs as well as the D300s for my needs, but it will take some time to re-adust to the body - I simply love the layout on the D300s.

I am going to the store to mess with the d7000 some and see how i like it, but i thinking it will feel more like a d90 in my hands than my d200

I am going to the store to mess with the d7000 some and see how i like it, but i thinking it will feel more like a d90 in my hands than my d200