Nikon D3400 v. D5300 for a beginner?

smstevns

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I'm just getting into photography and purchased the Nikon D3400 camera. I liked the guide mode and how easy it is to use starting out. I'm a little worried I'll grow out of the camera quickly as I learn more. I'm still within my refund period, is it worth spending as extra $120 for the Nikon D5300? It has 39 pts of autofocus versus 11 and some additional features, but I do lose the guide mode.

Any advice?

Thank you, Sean

The d3400 is a basic camera for learning
It doesn't have or allow certain features of the newer d5x00 series

Such as, If you ever see yourself using a remote this is one thing where the d3400 removed the USB port for that. There is becoming more separation between the "beginner" d3x00 series and the intermediate d5x00 series. So I can see some people outgrowing the d3x00 series faster than others.

But it's all about learning how to use the features correctly.

If you can afford it I would say yes.

I can but I'm trying to decide if I should. Can you elaborate as to why you think it'd be good?

The d3400 is a basic camera for learning
It doesn't have or allow certain features of the newer d5x00 series

Such as, If you ever see yourself using a remote this is one thing where the d3400 removed the USB port for that. There is becoming more separation between the "beginner" d3x00 series and the intermediate d5x00 series. So I can see some people outgrowing the d3x00 series faster than others.

But it's all about learning how to use the features correctly.

The remote is a nice feature but I didn't see it as a reason to spend the money. The 39 points of autofocusing appeals to me, I don't know enough yet to distinguish between other specs.

That's the problem; you're photographic technique, style or even what you like to do may not be far enough down the road to be able to answer your own question.