Nikon D90 Advice

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I am a beginner with Digital SLR, but have owned a film SLR for a few years now. I really love the nikon d90 and am about to buy it. However, I have a few questions that hopefully some of you have advice for. I am looking for any and all advice!

What type of card should I get if I want to hold over 600 pics?
Where can I find a good bag, one thats just a shell and one that holds multiple lenses?
If I have a few hundered bucks left over what should I spend it on? A better flash or lens, I really dont know what to get that would help me improve the camera even more?!

I want to be able to take a wide range of pics from sports to landscapes. So the more flexible the better! THANKS for any advice! :)

Welcome to TPF.

I get 197 exposures on a 4GB card (12MPX) shooting RAW or ...... had to check... 552 exposures set at JPEG Fine. I use mostly 4GB cards but have a couple of 2GB. I do not want anything larger for myself.

Bags are a personal choice, but I have two Lowepros and find they are good and durable. Tamarac is another brand that I know to consider.

A better flash would be anything other than the in-built. I would not go less than a SB-600 at ~$185USD.

Get use to the camera and figure out what you're missing before going out to spend money on a lens. Get the best quality you can afford or save up to get a better one rather than "settleing".

Congrats and good luck. Always glad to have another Nikon shooter in the house.

I have the D90 and with a Sandisk Extreme III 30mb/s Edition 8GB card, I get 1100 shots shooting JPEG FINE LARGE

I pair my D90 with 2x 4GBs. I also don't want anything larger incase I loose/break a card. I thought about 2GB, but it's such a hassle o.o.

You might want to think about extra battery, but it's not that important imo. I got it, dont regret it, but I coulda saved that $70 towards a flash. I'm wishing I had a flash right now.

Hey guys,