Nikon FE,EL shooting at only one speed

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by manlee, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. manlee

    manlee TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello to everybody,

    i am getting straight into to the point.

    I have a Nikon FE and a Nikon EL which shoot at only one speed. I do not know what speed it is, but they act like there is only one. For example, if i go 1/1000 or 1/500 or 1/2 or 4" or anything else, the curtain remains open for the same period of time. They both have new batteries. Bulb works as expected.

    Any ideas on what to check or any information, would be appreciated.

    Thanks a lot!


     
  2. gsgary

    gsgary Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16,144
    Likes Received:
    2,967
    Location:
    Chesterfield UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    It needs a CLA, clean, lubricate and adjust
     
  3. cgw

    cgw Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    Toronto
    A new battery is nice but are the contacts clean? How do they work in "A" mode?
     
  4. compur

    compur Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,842
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    L.A.
    Results of battery check?
     
  5. djacobox372

    djacobox372 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Is the battery dead? Most Nikon cameras default to 1/90 when the batter is dead.
     
  6. manlee

    manlee TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0


    Batteries are brand new and battery check indicates that the batteries are ok.
    "A" mode does not work too and the same happens at "M90"
    As i can see by experience, the speed must be either 1/1000 or 1/500, if that matters.

    Does anybody suspects anything here?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

nikon fe only one speed