Noob. Please Critique?

jpbessey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a beginning photographer, and had my first opportunity to attempt some macro photography this weekend. I'm relatively happy with the results, but would like some C&C to help me better myself. I was using a Nikon D80, with a Sigma 70-300 mm macro lens. I photographed everything in manual mode, and the camera settings were: ISO 800, Aperture F9, and shutter speed 1/1600, and automatic ISO. There was no post processing done on this picture at all. I did try the photo in black and white, but it didn't have anywhere near the same effect as color. One thing that i was a little unhappy with was the shallow depth of field of the lens (do all macro lenses have such a shallow depth of field?), and the monotonous background color, although i feel it does help contrast. Any comments, critiques, or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,
John :cheers:

My only issue is the composition... you have two subjects. I'm split between them.

As for DOF issues, try looking into focus stacking. The out-of-focus, plain background is a plus for this type of work.

jpbessey said: