Paying my dues or something else?

Cinka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
[sorry this is long]
I recently took up an unpaid internship with a VERY prominent photographer. I've been freelancing for a few years, but want to know more about the business and how a large scale operation like this guy's is run. Mostly it was curiosity.

I've been there 2 months and there is no culture of education. It's "pick up tid bits along the way" if you manage to be in the same room at the same time something amazing is happening. I'm starting to feel like Cinderella. Today at an important shoot with a Disney celebrity, when I asked if I could shadow the lighting crew, I was told, yes, but only if my tasks were done. Fair deal, right? Wrong. I spent the entire day sitting at an electronic gate letting people in an out. People would come by about once an hour to be let in. The first 3 hours, I sat on the curb until I moved to my car. I was also told all us interns would rotate out at the gate, but was later told it was MY job for the day.

I went into the studio for about an hour, but spent most of that time cleaning up the kitchen. I was later allowed to help the crew break down the set, but was immediately traded back to the gate for a man.

Since I had a lot of time to think today, I realized that I could do exactly what I'm doing at a restaurant, not learn anything, and at least make minimum wage! So why was I volunteering my time to clean the kitchen and sit at a gate all day? Not working on the shoots or anything else meaningful? In the 2 months I've been there, I've hardly even touched any equipment.