redbourn

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
best-food.info
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Photos? For Us of for others?

Although I worked in the film industry for 35 years, I only really got into photography a few months ago because I'm compiling a cookbook.

I bought a Nikon d3300 and a Nikkor 35mm 1:1.8G lens and then bought a softbox, lights etc and started learning.

So what's the problem?

Well two things really.

I have about 1200 Facebook friends and post photos to see what they like.

They overwhelmingly prefer the photos that I don't care for or even like. They like very high contrast.

I always like water colors more than oil paintings.

But my photos are for a book. So should I use photos that I prefer or use ones that others prefer?

The other issue is that they prefer photos shot on my phone to those shot on my Nikon.

Below are two photos that they are raving about .

"Best of your photos. Really great and makes me feel hungry". etc both shot on my phone.

steak and grilled tomatoes.jpg

steak and beans.jpg

And a third photo which is more to my taste shot with the Nikon.

A Basque Chicken Thigh And Vegetable Stew (2).jpg

I'd love your feedback and comments.

Thanks,

Michael

Facebook is a bad place to look for photography advice, a lot of people on there don't have the first clue about photography and frequently like sub par shots.

Saying that I'm going to contradict myself here and agree with them. Not because the first two shots are better technically, but they do contain more saturated colour on the food. The color of food is ascociated particularly in a lot of peoples minds with stronger flavour, muted colours can be linked with bland food. I think a stronger coloured sauce and much more colour on the meat would have made a big difference, particularly if you can get a bit of charring in there.

Also in the shot with the cut steak we can see the pink middle and that makes it look glossy and juicy and tasty.