portrait photographers

Dexter-1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This question is for those of you who do a lot of indoor portrait shooting. Do you use mostly a prime lens or zooms or both? Coventional wisdom is that an 85mm lens is ideal for portraits so do you just shoot with an 85mm prime or something like a 105mm zoom to give you a little more flexibility vice having to always move the camera around?

Im not a indoor portrait photographer, but Im going to say it really just depends on the style or look you want. You should listen to lightsource podcast, a lot of the guest photographers will talk about the looks they have and how they got there.

I used to do most of it with either the 50mm, but then moved to a Sigma 105mm F/2.8 and thought it was the cat's pajamas, then I started playing with the Nikkor 70-200VR F/2.8... but that was only until I picked up and used the Nikkor 85mm F/1.4 prime. It is so far above the others that I feel it doesn't have any competition at all. If ultimate portraiture quality is what you are looking for, I would have to point to this lens. In terms of sharpness, colour and contrast quality (not to mention its the best fix a bokeh junky can find... lol), I cannot see anyone being unhappy with this lens.

No matter what you use, though, to avoid facial distortions, you want at LEAST a 70mm or greater focal length. Then you avoid things like chipmunk cheeks and all the other nuisances that come when you use a closer focal length.

I'm still getting used to the 85mm, but already its at the top of my heap.

Last edited:
I want to second the 85 prime. I put off buying one for too long, and I have had a really stellar experience with mine now that I have it. For a full body length shot indoors, a 24-70 is a good choice, as is a 35 prime. A 70-200 will do in some cases as well.