Possible Job!

SabrinaO

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been asked to photograph the kids at my sons old daycare/preschool. In the email they said they want "school" pictures of the kids at both branches. There must be 20-40 kids at each branch. I'm thinking about getting a muslin backdrop but I want an actual classroom to be the "backdrop". I really don't know how to respond because i've never done this before. I don't know how much to charge, how to do the proofing etc. Maybe its just too big of a job right now? If anyone has any tips please respond. Thanks in advance!

The proper response would be...

"This isn't something that I am well versed in, perhaps I can refer you to a properly experienced professional." Then you tag along to gain the experience for the next gig that comes along....

I think you may be on to something saying that it's too big a job right now? Do you have a business license, lawyer-reviewed contract and liability insurance? Don't even THINK about touching a job like this unless you do!

That said, these aren't difficult jobs, but they do require a set work flow. I agree that a classroom is a better backdrop than the traditional blue 'spattered' muslin.

I do something similar each year with a local animal charity and a 'Pets with Santa' shoot - it's two full days on non-stop shooting. I have two assistants; one to wrangle the animals and one to record information. The way it works: Person comes in to the venue with pet (child) and meets assistant #1 who records name, tel #, e-mail address, pet's (child's) name and description, she then directs them to a seat in the line. Assistant #2 takes the next person/pet from the line and gets them into position, checks for hair, positioning, etc. I shoot the pictures and at the end of the day dump the cards to my laptop, and burn two copies onto DVD.