Prime lens vs Kit lens

0ptics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I just was wondering about prime lens and wanted to know what makes them so important for portraits or photography in general. I have a Nikon D3100 and I've been using the kit lens 18-55mm so far; the images are good but I know they could be better. So then my friend let me borrow his Nikon 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX and a 50mm f/1.4 AF-S; both which I very much like but I had some questions about them...

1) I'm still a new photographer but I tried testing the image quality between the three lens and I'll admit, I don't see much of difference in image quality; maybe I'm doing something wrong or cause I'm still a noob to photography/lens/camera. The other two primes lens definitely have better/faster AF, build quality, bigger aperture, etc. but I still can't much of an improve on the image quality, which to me seems the most important.

2) What makes primes lens so essential? As a beginner to photography I like the 18-55mm because it allows me to use the zoom and control my composition, but I know that prime lens are "better' but I guess I don't know why, the photographers I know use prime lens as they're default lens and they always carry it around, but for me I thought the 18-55mm would be better because it's more versatile. Are they really worth the money?