Print size and quality Q's...

get_nick

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a noob to DSLR photography, and I am considering the canon xsi. I don't need professional, just looking to improve photo quality and have more options for shooting manually than i have with my sd600 point and shoot.

1) How large of print can I produce with the 12.2 mpg camera (rebel xsi)and have it be clear. I am interested in decorating my house with my photography and framing large prints as gifts.

2) I have heard of mpix.com for photo prints. Are there any other site suggestions?

Welcome to the forum.
1) How large of print can I produce with the 12.2 mpg camera (rebel xsi)and have it be clear. I am interested in decorating my house with my photography and framing large prints as gifts.
That depends. You could make prints the size of a billboard...and while they won't look good from a couple feet away, they will look great from 50 feet away. The same principle applies to pictures you hang in your home. You don't expect to view a poster sized print with your nose up against it...you would probably be standing a few feet back. So as long as the viewing distance is adequate, you can print as big as you want.

For so called 'photographic' quality, the rule of thumb is usually 300 pixels per inch (PPI) of print. So for an 8x10 print, you would want 2400 x 3000 pixels. You can use less, 240 PPI or even 150 as you get to bigger sizes. Plus, you can use software to increase the number of pixels, which does reduce the quality as you get bigger).

Of course, the more you increase the size of an image, the bigger the good and bad parts get. So if your image isn't nice and sharp, that will be more evident as it gets bigger...so it pays to use good technique to maximize your sharpness. For example, use a tripod and remote release (or self timer). Use high quality lenses and use the sweet spot of the aperture range on those lenses.