Question for professional photographers

digabella

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just learning to use my d40x and would actually like to go into photography. I am just wondering if the professional photographers actually shoot (people shots) using the manual modes or do you actually use one of the auto options when shooting?
Thanks,
Angie

Not a pro but i'll tell you not many pro's use the scene selection mode. Everything in them can be done better manually. Aperture Priority is the favourite although some swear by full manual mode. As a mere amature i use Aperure Priority mainly although i have started to use full manual more lately. It just gives you more control but for portraits i'm pretty sure Aperture Priority is your best bet.

I think you will find that most people on here wont really consider themselves professional even if they make money shooting.

Different people do different things. I think it is really important to take the time to learn your camera, and learn how to shoot manually, as well as composition, lighting and all the other basics. I didn't charge anyone for almost a year after I started because I didn't want to learn on other people's dime, but I needed the shoots to learn. As far as what mode I use; I use aperture priority most of the time. The only time I'll use manual mode is if I'm looking for a specific effect, or the a mode isn't getting the lighting the way I want it. As I said, though I think it is very important to learn manual.

I would ask for: experienced photographers (not professional).
Depending on the situation I will take 'test shots' in aperture priority to see what the shutter speed is, then go over to manual.

f8, ISO 100, 1/200sec