Question of two lenses

TarmacFFS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I'm not a professional, or even an amateur photographer. My mother-in-law bought a 5d many years ago and never used (literally never powered it on) it so she gave it to me. I, not knowing its value or the quality of photos it could take, never learned to use it. A colleague of mine found out I had one and when I talked about it just sitting in my closet, he looked at me like an idiot and told me had a "damn fine DSLR that many professional photographers have used for years". This compelled me to take it out and experiment with the main settings and I'm just now barely getting the hang of how to take a decent shot, with the occasional 'good' shot.

I'm an interactive designer and I needed to take some product photos for a website recently. The lens mother-in-law gave me (a Tamron 50-200, or somewhere around there) couldn't get close enough so I checked out Amazon and ordered a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II for $125 and it worked great. I don't know jack about photography, but I absolutely love this lens as a walking around Lens. For a lens I ordered just to take a single set of shots, it seems like a lens I'll get some use out of.

I just went to the Portland Zoo and had the Tamron lens on it so I could get some up close and personal shots. I took a few hundred and then heard an awful crunch in the camera body and found the mirror chipped and detached. A quick search and I found this is a known issue and the body is already on its way back to canon. I really wish I knew what lens I had because I hated it. It produced an awful Vignette, the AF was very slow, and I don't think it was that clear at all.