Really REALLY bad..

Weaving Wax

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I'm fairly new to photography as some of you may know. I'm BRAND new to film. And took a few shots with my first roll of color. I got them back today..

I'm looking for some pointers and stuff...

Some of these are blurry, probably from being hand-held, but the photos are overexposed and everything looks blown out.

maier26-R1-036-16A.jpg

maier26-R1-048-22A.jpg

maier26-R1-046-21A-1.jpg

These are some taken at night, which did turn out a bit better...

maier26-R1-020-8A.jpg

maier26-R1-022-9A.jpg

maier26-R1-030-13A.jpg

I know these really have no "subject" or artistic value, but I want to learn the basics of photography..I know I should "aim" for something and I kinda did, but as you can see...things didn't turn out as hoped..

For the daytime ones, it was a bit overcast and I used apertures ranging from 1.8 (the lowest on my camera) in Av to, 8, 11. I read that if you want more of the photo in focus, you'll want a lower aperture and if you want to blur everything except for one thing in the picture, you'll want a faster aperture. I'm also taking notes from the articles on B+W photography, so I'm hoping I improve...So, yeah...you can rip them apart..They're my first.

Weaving Wax said:
For the daytime ones, it was a bit overcast and I used apertures ranging from 1.8 (the lowest on my camera) in Av to, 8, 11. I read that if you want more of the photo in focus, you'll want a lower aperture and if you want to blur everything except for one thing in the picture, you'll want a faster aperture.

an f-stop of 1.8 means actually a large aperture, and 11 is a rather small aperture. Smaller aperture, as you say, means that the depth of field (the depth in your image you actually get "sharp") increases. with larger aperture (smaller number) however exposure time is reduced and hence you get less motion blur... and also less blur to camera shake.