Rebel Xti and pocketwizards

I--RIDE--BIKES

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone,

Well I shoot action sports all the time, mountain biking specifically, and have decided its time to dig into the wallet and buy a remote flash setup for my Rebel Xti. Im pretty new to all of this so please bare with me.

I am unsure on the compatability of everything, but i have come to the conclusion that I will be needing 2 Pocketwizard Plus II's, and im thinking the Vivitar 285HV flash.

Will these all work fine together? Will I be needing any additional adapters or cords?

I saw someone with a Rebel and a pocketwizard and they had some sort of adapter thing in between the 2. Will I need anything like this.

Thanks for any help that you may be able to offer.
Cheers

I've shot a lot of Cycling, mostly freeride type stuff. My opinion is to invest first into a nice wide angle lens. Then invest in the lighting.

My only beef with the PocketWizard stuff (which I use and love) is the cost and how bloody far off the camera they stick. In close quarters like a skate park I've had 2 broken off my camera. Rider/Photog error. Check out the AlienBees CyberSync also. I've borrowed a set from a friend and they worked well. Nice and small and quite a bit cheaper than PW's.

Check out some of the stuff I've shot. And remember to invest in a few flash stands as well!

Cycling Portfolio

Nice pics! Nothing better than Whistler thats for sure.

I am going to be getting a good wide angle lense soon but Im going to be getting my lighting figured out first.

I think I will stick with the Pocketwizards because of the reliability and the increased distance I can use them at.

The only real thing I am unsure of now is how to connect my Rebel Xti (no PC port) to the Pocket Wizard Plus II?

Really? because from what i have heard you need some sort of adaptor. How do you connect the PW to your camera then?