Shooting in snow advice

emt123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to photography but I've been able to capture some good looking shots so far. But with snowboarding season upon us I want to take my 70d to the mountain and take some awesome snowboard shots. I think I've got a good game plan but if anyone has some advice on how to get crisp, correctly exposed shots of a moving subject (snowboarder) in the snow please chime in!

Equipment: 70d, 18-55 kit lens

Plan: shutter speed around 500-1000, f5 (or higher) I want a lot of the scene to be in focus, ISO as low as possible? Using back button focusing. Single af point, evaluative metering, and try to over expose by 2 stops. Also shooting in RAW.

Any other advice? It's hard to get practice shots because once my friends go by I've got to wait until the next run to try again, pack up my equipment and go back up the lift.

Thanks in advance!

Shooting 2 stops over will help with giving a good reading for the snow, may not be the correct exposure for the subject so you might have to raise some shadows in post or overexpose the snow to have good exposure on the subject or add lighting.

I know some people add flash for better lighting, I think someone on here does a lot of snowmobile shots and they use flash. If it is your friends then it shouldn't be an issue, although I've busted a speedlight tube with rough handling.

I would do some tests just stationary in a spot where a number of boarders are going by and in the light that you expect to have with your friends.