Should I sell my 'kit' lens?

ifi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I am new to photography. I purchased a Canon 7d and it came with Canon 28-135mm lens. Then I purchased a Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 VC to use with my new camera and this is the lens that I use all the time.

Now I am thinking of buying Canon 70-200 f4 IS as my second lens and I am thinking if I will ever use 28-135?

Do you think I should sell the kit (28-135) lens? Or I might need/use it for casual (zoo, etc.) usage?

I think ... it does not matter what we think. It only matter what you think.

;)

I think ... it does not matter what we think. It only matter what you think.

;)

What you think matters to me :)
Would you sell it if you were in this situation?

Lenses I don't use get sold to help finance lenses I want. The trouble is, there are more lenses I want, than lenses I have I don't use. ;)

If you can get a decent amount for it, then go for it. The trouble is that the market is flooded with cheap 'kit' lenses (although the 28-135mm is a decent mid-range lens and not just the 18-55mm 'kit' lens).

I've got some pretty good lenses, but I still have my 17-85mm IS, which I pull out when just playing around or at a family gathering etc.
I've also still got an 18-55mm, and if I thought I could get anything for it, I'd sell it, because I haven't used it in many years.

When I told my wife she do not need that many hand bags and should sell some of them ...... then I got into trouble. So I figured different people see things differently (~_~; )

When I told my wife she do not need that many hand bags and should sell some of them ...... then I got into trouble. So I figured different people see things differently (~_~; )

Man you asked for it... :lol:

Lenses I don't use get sold to help finance lenses I want. The trouble is, there are more lenses I want, than lenses I have I don't use. ;)