Should I upgrade my camera body or invest in glass?

DreamCatcher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've got a Canon Rebel T5 I'm just starting out in my photography business. I know a better camera body will improve image quality of my pictures. Although I've also been told to just invest in higher end glass until I can afford a better camera. What do you guys think? If you have any recommendations on glass/camera bodies please help. I want my next body to be atleast full frame.

Guessing your staying with Canon system. What is your price range? Right now a 5D mkII or a 6D would be improvements in ISO performance over your current T5. Some improvements in color and dynamic range as well. The 6D even more improvement in ISO than the 5D mk II. But we are talking about moving from a $500 body to $2,000 bodies. The 5D mkIV would be another step up in sensor output with better color, dynamic range and more ISO performance than the 6D. But again going up in price to over $3,200.

Also if you don't have glass to fit a full frame now. Your going to have that expense as well. If your willing to stay crop sensor the 80D is the body to get. $1,100 or so for better color, dynamic range, and ISO over your T5. Of course the ISO is not as good as the full framers above.

Currently I don't have a price range still shopping was hoping to try, and make due with the body I've got possibly upgrade the glass for the time being because I'm just starting out. Canon right now is my go to platform from what I've read Canon had a better lens selection.

The conventional wisdom is always to value glass over bodies, and this is good advice, generally. However, I have found that the hardware that inspires me to go out and shoot is always a good choice, whether it be a new lens, body, or accessory.