Slowing down and reducing equipment size for street photography

stephanar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello guys, new member here! Registered to ask for some advice.
I worked as a photographer for 2 years, but as the income was real low and now I graduated, I will change my work area. But photography has always been a passion and now that I don't have to worry about making money with it I'm back at focusing on my own work. Although the worker side of me needed some equipment, the artist never needed it that much and I got really used to do that with film cameras and normal lenses. But chemicals and films got really expensive around here, so, for about a year or so, all I've done is digital.
After selling almost everything, I kept to myself a canon 60D, a 18-135 and a 430 exII.
But now I'm in a dilemma. Everytime I get the 60D to go shooting I feel like I'm going to work. Besides that, It stays at home most of the time because it is big and awkward. So last week I announced it on the classifieds. My wife has a sony nex that she never uses, so she said if I wanted I could have it. For me it was ok, I could sell my part, get some nice manual glass for the nex and be happy.
But the nex is that thing... everytime you want to change a setting you have to dive on 10 menus and maybe you won't find what you want. Besides that, I don't know how much the focus peaking can be reliable at low light, the camera feels too small in my big hands, and good rangefinder lenses are pretty expensive and hard to find around here.