Stuck on lens choices (Tamron or Sigma)

b_purkiss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I've been searching for an all around lens. Mainly I like shooting vehicles or people at family events/cottage stuff. Right now I have a Rebel XS (clearly nothing special) with a 50m 1.4 and then the stock lens. I had the following list of lenses:

Sigma 24-60 F2.8
Sigma 17-50 F2.8-4 OS HSM
Sigma 18-50 F2.8 EX DC Macro
Tamron 28-75 F2.8
Tamron 17-50 F2.8
Tamron 17-50 F2.8 VC
Canon 17-85 IS USM

That was the initial list. After reading through this forum, I've narrowed it down to either the Tamron 17-50 F2.8 VC or the Sigma 18-50 Macro. Thoughts? All of them on the list are in my $500ish price range with a good warranty, I'm just not sure what to pick as I have zero experience with either of these brands.

In this case I would recommend you to buy Tamron. It has fair output for reasonable price.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

I've used the Sigma before (albeit briefly) and its a very nice lens. It's a good weight, doesn't feel too 'plasticky' and the AF is accurate and doesn't hunt too much, tho with no HSM it's not as quick as a USM Canon. Wide open its slightly soft, particularly in the centre, tho not to a massive degree. At 5.6 and above its fine throughout. There is slight barrel distortion at 18mm, but that's to be expected. All in all a decent lens for the money.

uhoh..what did u go with. Ive heard bad reviews about the Tamron 17-50 F2.8 VC. Aparently the non VC has better picture quality.

I would also reccomend taking a look at lens that isn't on your list - Sigma 17-70/2.8 :)

I just got the Sigma 17-50mm to replace my stock Canon 18-55mm, and so far I like it. It's a solid standard lens. It has an f/ 2.8 aperture through the entire focal range from 17 to 50mm, up to f/22, and the AF is very quiet.