Sunday Afternoon C&C (BESP)

fast eddie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Assignment:
This is my first project for the Bitter's Evil School of Photography.
The objective was to explore the rule of thirds, and use at least 3 of the four "magic intersections" for points of interest. Subject needs to be a beverage, and the photo should make the viewer want to drink.

Set-up:
I ordered my latte and cookie, waited around a bit for a good seat (one I could capture a good foreground/background interplay) and once set up I got a few shots I was happy with.

Post production:
Not much - removed some cookie crumbs on the table and an Undesirable thermos on another table.

Settings:
Shutter: 1/15
F/ 5.0
ISO: 400
26mm
hand held
natural light

C&C:
Please let me know how I did, if it fits what was asked for, and what I can improve.

Photo: "Sunday Afternoon"
4416551590_b766c40a40_o.jpg

#2 (following some comments on the person being distracting)
4417648944_c5168ec69f_o.jpg

Thanks,
Fast Eddie

Last edited:
I think you cheated.
I wish we could see at least part of the actual drink.
The guy in the background is distracting.
Focus seems pretty good and i think exposure is good...although im still learning all that....
I do want a cookie now.....

Nice Depth of Field! I’m not a big fan of coffee but it’s certainly a good shot. I thiiink the top of the cup is blown out but the lighting in the rest of the photo is great. Good focus, and clear for being handheld with a shutter speed of 1/15. I’m not sure what metering you used but perhaps a spot metering on the top of the cup would have taken care of the blow out at the top there. I think the person slightly distracts but is out of focus enough that she isn’t too big of a problem, in my opinion.

Disclaimer – C&C given without reading any previous comments in the thread, per the instructions of the group; redundant comments possible and probable.