Tamron 17-50 f2.8... to VC or not VC that is the Q

frappuccino

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

My first post and in need of some advice please!!

I'm a total experimental photo beginner and have only just began dabbling with a DSLR Canon 20D.

On a tight budget of under £300 - need a lens for low-light and general/landscape photography.

Looking at the tamron 17-50 f2.8 VC or the NON VC lens. Is this a compatible lens with the aforementioned camera? Need help deciding for petite/small hands please!! Concerned about camera shake but sharpness is also a priority.

Huge biggest thanks for your help and time,

tanya :thumbup:

have had the non VC version for years. love it. never felt i needed VC with that short of focal length. if you can afford the VC version, cant hurt to have it. you can always turn it off when you dont need it.
i have heard the non vc version is sharper, but have not personally seen side by side comparisons

I have the non VC model and quite honestly, I haven't missed having the Vibration control. And to be honest, if you are shooting landscapes you should probably be tripod mounted any ways so the VC isn't going to help there. Just make sure your shutter speed is equal to or greater than your focal length and you should be good to go handheld (generally).

It's a really nice lens for the price and has rarely been off my camera since I bought it a year ago.

very swayed towards the non-VC!! thanks!!! there's a £63 diff between the two at the mo and if not a huge diff in quality that settles it then =)

thanks so much!!

As long as you have steady hands, you will be just fine with the non-VC version. Many people say that the non-VC is slightly sharper than the VC version. I have a very slight hand shake from time, thus the VC version for me.....funny, I never have any problem with camera shake with my non-is/non-VC lenses.