Tips for groups/oh god, what did I get myself into?!

JustJazzie

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just got off the phone with a fairly good friend, her MIL wants to do a last minuet photo session while her brother is in the country. (He leaves right after the new year) seeing a good opportunity to get away for a bit from our extended company, I jumped at the opportunity! Now all I can think is "what did I just agree to?! I have never shot a group before, and I don't enjoy shooting kids."

I've already said yes, and I'm not sure if they can find someone else (the 23rd) on such short notice, so I can't back out. She knows I am not a professional, and I have declined payment twice.

That said, I need some tips/resources for shooting groups. 5 adults, three kids. I think 7, 6ish and 2ish.

I'm still waiting to hear back on weather this is an indoor or outdoor shoot......

Thanks in advance!

Groups are a blast! we used to be involved in a lot of groups back in the day, and I always recommend setting the safe words before getting started. get that out of the way early.
introductions are always a good start.
after that, its really just exploring boundaries. mutual respect is the key. slow and steady wins the race.

Two words: Hip flask.
Hip flash, your makeshift toga and wild dancing by yourself. It probably won't help this time, but I doubt you'll have to worry about it again. ;)

Oh, and if you go this route, please let me know (where and when).