Ugh... What did I do wrong?

elementgs

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.element.gs
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I honestly have no idea what I did wrong.

I shot this in RAW. ISO100, 35MM, f/1.8, 1/2000s.

The raw shot was underexposed, though my intent was to do so because I knew I could pull it out in post... well I thought at least... I mean with the light as bright as it was, I duno, I'm still learning.....

Anyways... this is what I saw in lightroom after changing the settings like I normally do. I didn't do anything crazy... none of my settings were greater than +20 across the board... I literally have no idea why this happened.

Incidentally, the bland one is the flat RAW as viewed from in Lightroom with nothing adjusted.

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• $_DSC9197a-crop.jpg
    $_DSC9197a-crop.jpg
    310.2 KB · Views: 154
  • $_DSC9197-RAW.jpg
    $_DSC9197-RAW.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 165
This is the full shot, post edit, for reference and the straight from camera jpg for reference.

Once again, the slightly darker one is the "raw" output.

Attachments

• $_DSC9197a-resized.jpg
    $_DSC9197a-resized.jpg
    319 KB · Views: 164
  • $_DSC9197.jpg
    $_DSC9197.jpg
    271.1 KB · Views: 166
You are probably pushing beyond your camera's dynamic range.

I wish I knew how to measure that. My issue is that I've quite literally never had this problem before and I'm very close to my 10k shot mark.

I should have mentioned from the start, this shot was with the Nikon D3200 and the Nikon 35mm f1.8.

You can measure it with your light meter in camera. Put it it spot metering, meter the lightest part of your scene and then the darkest part.

Why did you shoot wide open? This is definitely a dynamic range issue. Do what weepete said. ^^^^

f1.8 and 1/2000 isn't wide open.