Upgrade lens but I can't see a noticeable difference. What do I do?

spartans

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
~~~~~~~~~~~~~

First of all, newbie here so hello to all! :mrgreen:

I have the Canon XSi with a kit lens and since I'm going to Europe in a few weeks, I decided to upgrade my lens. Read whatever I could find on the net and decided to buy a Canon EFS 15-85.

So this morning I set up my tripod and played around with both lenses (on manual) to see the "dramatic" difference that my $960 bought for me. Well, I was let down. I expected to see a measurable difference and all I got was "look real close to spot the difference". I had to magnify the photo several times to start picking up the slight variations.

So.....a couple of questions....

*Is the difference that small that in normal use? Or is it just me? Or a less then perfect lens?

*The 15-85 is within cost range of the Canon EF 24-105/4L IS lens. If what I saw from the 15-85 lens is normal, does going to one of the best lenses Canon has make a bigger difference? Or is it $1400 for a fairly small difference?

*Last but not least. Paying $960 or $1400 get's me a better camera. Is the money better spend by waiting a year or two and sinking it into a better camera that will give me inherently better quality shots?

I'm eager to hear what you think.

it depends on how you use it
i mean if you have perfect lighting, and the right aperture/shutter speed, it should have more improvement.
could i see some of your test shots between the lenses
another thing is that prime lenses will always be sharper than zoom lenses

it depends on how you use it
i mean if you have perfect lighting, and the right aperture/shutter speed, it should have more improvement.
could i see some of your test shots between the lenses
another thing is that prime lenses will always be sharper than zoom lenses

How do I post large images?

tpfpostinghelp.jpg