Used cameras?

Kpablo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just starting out in photography. I really like the 50D Canon, a long with a few others. I like the 50D, but I don't like the price tag on it, so I'm looking at my options.

On a search I found people are selling used cameras. What do y'all think about this?

I found a 50D Canon (body only) for 889$. Is that a bargain for a used? If I get the body only, what kind of lense should I get?

I like the 40D as well, but I like the fact that the 50D has 4 more megapixels, how much difference with that make? And why?

Thanks for the help!

I would say get a used 40D and spend the saved $ on a nice lens.

I think you would have much better image quality
i.e (4 Less MP + Better lens) > ( 4 more MP + Lower quality lens)

you are in the exact same boat as me and I am getting the 40D and EF mount lenses to allow me to upgrade to the full frame bodies later and not have to purchase new lenses; most likely upgrade will be 5D Mk ii

Thanks for your reply.

What kind of lens should I be looking at?

Trail season is coming up (woo hoo) therefore I will be indoors with very low lighting with fast moving dogs. But I also want to be able to go outside on a Sunny day and take pictures as well.

I've been in love lately with f/2.8 zooms that can stay at f/2.8 throughout the range. I would think for what you described in an earlier post that a 70-200 f/2.8 lens would be great.

You'll want something wider as well, but could get by with a 'kit lens' for now until you get more money saved.

If you know what you are doing, you can save a BUNCH of $$ (for other photo stuff) if you do buy used, like on Craigslist or eBay.

If you don't know what you are doing, would help if you could take someone who does along with you to check the camera out (but isn't a DSLR easier to check out right there on the spot than a film SLR was?).