using viewfinder to shoot video with my cannon 60d

robertantoni

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I'm a intermediate videographer and just purchased a cannon 60d. I've just stated using it and was shocked to find that I cannot shoot video looking through the viewfinder. I like to shoot in bright sunlight and at night, and in those conditions I find the lcd screen almost impossible to see. It's feels like blind hit-or-miss. That said, some of my video shots look pretty good. But I feel confined not being able to look through the viewfinder to frame my shots and focus. I've looked at the lcd hoods, which I suppose would solve my problem, but that means spending more money and lugging around another piece of equipment, and still not really getting what I want--the ability to simply look through my viewfinder and shoot my video. The other thing I miss with the 60d is the automatic zoom, but I guess I could get used to doing it manually. My question is, should I swap my cannon 60d for a high quality point-and-shoot? SOr should I simply spend the money and get a hood, and accept the limitations of using an slr to shoot video? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

My question is, should I swap my cannon 60d for a high quality point-and-shoot?

Since you are a self-proclaimed "intermediate videographer" why would you not swap the 60D for something that was designed specifically for video?

The way a DSLR camera works, there is a mirror in front of the shutter. The mirror directs the light coming into the lens, up into the viewfinder penta-prism (or penta-mirror). When you trip the shutter (for a still photo) the mirror flips up, the lens stops down and then the shutter opens, allowing the light to hit the sensor. During the exposure, the viewfinder goes dark because the mirror is no longer in place.