Wedding Lighting

EAC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

I worked for a company shooting weddings for two years, and my lighting never seemed to be quite what the lead photographer was. I knew enough about what I was doing and wanted to start my own, so I started booking weddings on my own. I'm also a student, and have learned quite a bit that way, too. Here's my problem... I know what settings to use manually, I thought, and have a great flash, but my photos don't seem to be as bright or vibrant as others I see in wedding photos, more specifically during the reception when it's a little dark. Here's my equipment:

Canon T2i with a Canon 580EXII flash and gary fong diffuser. I usually have my settings at 800 iso (for less grain) and around 30 shutter speed, 5.6 aperture. My photos seem to come out kind of yellowish. Maybe my flash isn't set high enough? I need some help here. Thanks!

To start with, lose the Fong Dong, secondly, some example images would help greatly. You don't mention your WB - are you shooting a custom WB, setting it to 'Auto' (My preference), or using a pre-set mode?

Your settings aren't making sense to me; ISO 800 and 1/30 of a second? I'm not a Canonite, but I believe the 580 EXII is a pretty powerful flash. I would suggest shooting at max sync speed (1/250) in RAW with auto-white- balance. Clean up the colour casts in post, as well as increasing the saturation and contrast. A lot of the 'pop' that digital images have is a result of skilled work in the pixel room.

My Turn.... :) It might be a bit long so bare with you.
I worked for a company shooting weddings for two years, and my lighting never seemed to be quite what the lead photographer was.
*What equipment is he using?
*What is your responsibility? I've assisted a wedding photographer for about 3 yrs (and 4yrs wedding videographer) before I began shooting (best high school job in the world).
*What did you learn?