What camera should I get?

CalicoKitties

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay, I need some help. Every time I try to read about which camera to get, I find a million different answers. (Plus, I'm extremely new to photography; I've only really used my iPhone to take pictures... so I still don't know what half of the photography terms mean. Yikes.. Talk about overwhelming.)
Anyway, I'm sure this has been asked plenty of times before, but my question is this: What is the best DSLR camera for a beginner to get for macro photography? Also, what macro lens should I get for it?
I'll probably use it to take pics of other things, too, of course, but I mainly want to use it for macro photography. Pictures of things like flowers, mosses, little bugs, etc. (Especially bugs!)

Any advice is greatly appreciated.. Not sure if I posted this in the right place, either, lol.

Last edited:
Welcome to TPF Calico :)

You don't need a specialized camera for your macro work, all you need is a basic DSLR and a macro lens. Google for extension tubes, they are a cheap way to begin macro work if you can't get a proper macro lens for now. Look at this link for some basics.

For a camera, depending on your budget, I'd advise you to get either a D3300/D5200/D5300, saving enough money for that lens of course. I'm sure some of our specialized macro photographers will comment further, you can also send a private message to "orionmystery" for some tips he does a lot of macro work. :)

For Macro any DSLR will do, what you need is macro lens to work with this body.
For a beginer I would recommend Nikon D3200 or D300 or if you have more cash then D5200 or D5300
For macro lenses you have few choices.