What lenses should I start out with?

sweenona

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there! Brand new to The Photo Forum, excited to join you guys (and gals). So I recently decided to purchase a DSLR to use as a high end video camera for short films, but I've also become VERY excited to be able to pick up my photography hobby that I pursued when I was younger.

I'm basically a complete beginner when it comes to DSLR photography, but I can't wait to get started and I've decided to dive in with both feet. Yesterday I preordered a Canon 5D Mark III, and I'm trying to decide what lenses I should start out with.

I was thinking a Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L and a Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L. Would these focal lengths provide a nice coverage of my needs as a beginning photographer? Should I pursue a lens with a longer focal length to cover my bases?

Looking forward to your advice (and if you want to throw any extra advice in, feel free, I'm starting off pretty ignorant here) and thanks!

If you are doing video work you'll want to stick to prime lenses or zooms that are parfocal (parafocal? I can't remember which spelling it is). That means that the point of focus remains static when the focal length of the lens is changed. Many zooms for DSLRs are not parafocal (some get close others are miles off).
The 24-70mm f2.8 isn't parafocal and I'm not sure about the MII version of the lens.
The 24-105mm f4 IS L is parafocal and has IS which will help counter handholding motions from your body during stills and video work.

Overread, thanks for the tip, that's very helpful. Is there a resource that I can check to make sure if a lens is parfocal or not? I chose the 24-70mm f2.8 L over the 24-105mm f4 IS L because research and reviews led me to believe that the 24-70 produces better images. Would you say that statement is accurate? Is there a parfocal zoom lens that is on the same level as the 24-70 f2.8 L?