What to buy, Can't Decide!

chaantel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm currently shooting with a nikon D60 with a AF-S DX 18-55 f/3.5-5.6.
I want to get another lens i'm currently looking at the Nikkor 55-200 F4-5.6 G IF-ED VR

I would like to hear from anyone who has one and if they think it would be a good purchase, and if not what else would you recommend
http://www.nikon.ca/en/Product.aspx?m=14325

What can i say. It rocks. Its nice an smooth. Mine came with a round lens hood (not sure if that's standard) so its nice for outdoor photograpy. Not sure what else i can say. Go for it. Im just a noob so maybe someone with more experience can elaborate more on the details.

The only bad I can say is that it's cheaply made. But still a great lens.

Since your mentioned the 55-200, I take your looking for a telephoto. How much are you looking to spend? The 70-200 is one of the best telephotos you can get, however the price is steep($1500-$1700). Theres also the 70-300vr, its a good lens for the money. Check it out. Nikon 70-300mm VR

There are third party lenses that i can recommend but, they wont reach as far. I would also advise you to think about purchasing lenses used. Prices today are inflated used and new, if i can save a buck buy getting it used through a reputable dealer i do...

Last edited:
Despite what some people may say, the 55-200 would make an EXCELLENT companion to the camera lens you currently have.

You might reach a point later on where it no longer satisfies you and you want more. But until that point, the 55-200 is way too inexpensive (in comparison) to not own.

And if anything, you can sell it used for about half price or better. Lenses hold their value MUCH better than camera bodies.

My budget is about 500$ for now, just for something to get me started.
I'm looking at buying a used lens for B&H photo maybe something nicer considering the cost reduction.