What to charge

sgbphotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,
I'm just getting started in the portrait business. I've been looking at what other photographers charge for their services for comparision, and it seems like there are two camps out there: 1) Charge a sitting fee and keep the price of prints low 2) Don't charge a sitting fee, but charge outlandish prices for prints.

I'd love to hear the opinions from other photographers on each of these approaches.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

You are right, there are generally two schools of thought on this.

There is no right or wrong way to do it...so it's not something that can be easily answered for you. You will probably have to try some things and see what works best for you.

To add another variable (and make it more convoluted ;) ) let's throw in the issue of selling the digital images. These days, a lot of clients want the digital images...and a lot of photographers offer them. There are pros & cons to this (as with any issue) so it should be carefully considered.
On one hand, you can sell them, then not have to worry about reprint orders to make money. But you have to sell them for enough that you make enough money on them in the first place.
If you let the clients order/make prints themselves, you loose control over the final product. They might have them printed at Wal-mart and get bad prints...then blame you. If you sell the prints yourself, you can make sure that they are of good quality.

The same issue still applies...do you charge a lot for the sitting fee and less for the files/prints....or do you lower the sitting fee and charge a lot for the files/prints.