What to look for in a computer for photography?

ArtFreak

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking to buy a new laptop, with a price range topping off at around a thousand. I'm not a computer expert or anything, but I'm sure since I'm going to be editing my photos on this computer it will in some way influence them. Is there a particular brand or model that anyone would recommend, and is there anything that I should be looking for in a computer? I understand my price range won't include top of the line computers, but if anybody has a right direction to point me in I'd appreciate it.

I would recommend looking for something with an Intel i7 cpu or a high end AMD cpu. Have you looked anywhere yet? If so what are your options, I have a little over a decade in computers and can help you decide.

Whats you budget? What software are you going to be using? Thats important information if you have a specific task in mind.

I am looking to buy a new laptop, with a price range topping off at around a thousand. I'm not a computer expert or anything, but I'm sure since I'm going to be editing my photos on this computer it will in some way influence them. Is there a particular brand or model that anyone would recommend, and is there anything that I should be looking for in a computer? I understand my price range won't include top of the line computers, but if anybody has a right direction to point me in I'd appreciate it.
Yes.

You should look for a laptop with a very good, and very consistent screen so that you can calibrate it and expect WYSIWYG.

If you are going to store images on it: I'd consider a dual-drive Laptop. SSDs are awesome for laptop performance, but still a bit expensive for large drive sizes.

Not much else to worry about, unless we are discussing the bottom of the barrel. Even a very mediocre modern machine, with average RAM (4GB, say), will edit stills faster than you can work the interface.