What to Purchase -Just getting Started

MrsBrown

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, and thank you for taking the time to read my post. I am new here and looking forward to receiving and sharing some wonderful advice.

I had been a professional photographer some time ago (before digital).
I graduated with my degree in photography in 94 to give you an idea. I started working in the field in 92 and continued such full time until 96, when I went part time until 2000ish.

I am desperately wanting to make a serious move to renter the business, focusing on portraits for infants, children, families, and special events such as weddings and engagements. I plan to work with natural lighting outdoors more often than indoors, however will be needing advice for equipment for both.

I want to do this right the first time- though my budget is limited.
I am asking for assistance with knowledge of MUST HAVE equipment and opinions on such.

I came here here first before purchasing as I thought that made the most logical sense.
Though I'd love to purchase a shiny new Canon EOS 5D MarkIII, it is not in my current budget- I do hope to upgrade to this and make it my main camera once I get my feet on the ground. In the mean time to start, I have been considering the Canon EOS 60D, with a 24-85mm-f3.5-4.5 EF, and 75-300mm-f4.0-5.6EFIII HD, 4GB SD Memory card, High Speed Reader, Carrying case, full size tripod, lens care package, LCD screen protectors, & cap keeper.
Its a package I found online for $829.

Do you all feel this is a good start and investment? Is this a good first camera for starting and then back up camera for later? If not PLEASE let me know! (I've always used Nikon in the past)

Also, what do you suggest? What other equipment MUST I have to start out?