What type of a photographer are you?

How many different areas would you like to be in photography field?

• Total voters

MohaimenK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
When do you realize what type of a photographer you really want to be? Do you feel that being *all around* photographer is the way to go? Or do you limit yourself to certain areas? As a noob, I took different direction. Landscape, people, portraits, etc. But I'm beginning to realize that's not the way to go. At first it was great, for practicing photography altogether. But now I'm thinking "stick to a few things". So I'll stay as a wedding, engagement and portrait (modeling or not) photographer. Those 3 are what I want to focus mostly on. They tie into one another very well. As hobby, I wouldn't mind doing landscape/club photography here and there if I have nothing else to do.

EDIT:
What type of photographer would you advertise yourself as? All around photographer or just advertise as certain types for pay but as a hobby, do everything else.

Last edited:
I'm not really interested in weddings, sports, photojournalism etc. I'd just like to make art. Create photos that capture people's imagination.

before i got my camera i wanted to mainly shoot cars. now that i have my camera i want to shoot everything. if you really want to improve esp if you plan on making this a career then learning one aspect at at time would be best. nobody wants average wedding photos. so learn weddings if that is what you want to do. for me its a hobby and likely always will be, so im just going to shoot anything that intrests me and learn as i go. right now its fun shooting things a year or two i never would have thought about and they have all been learning experiences.

then again i dont consider myself a photographer. i still think im in the point and shoot side of things. but im learning.