What would you do - Exhibit Related

JohnnyWrench

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need some advice here. I have the opportunity to show some of my work in a football themed exhibit in a gallery outside the University of Phoenix Stadium. The AZ Cardinals play there and it's where this year's Super Bowl will be played. It's through my employer, who will be paying for the prints and the budget for this is VERY limited. As a result the photos are being printed through Costco. I was originally thinking of doing 18 x 12 inch prints because they're cheap and the quality is quite good, but then decided to go bigger and did a 30 x 20 test print. The quality on that wasn't nearly as good. So my question is... Large with lower print quality, or small with much better print quality. I think I know the answer but I'm looking for some outside opinions. Thanks.

FYI- I'm not a pro. I'm an amateur enthusiast hoping to get some exposure through this which might lead to some paid shoots in the future.

For exhibition you definitely want high quality prints, and high quality gallery presentation with the prints framed and matted behind high quality glazing.

Costco can make high quality prints if your images are properly prepared for printing.

12 x 18 or 11 x 14 can look quite nice in a 16 x 20 frame but the cost of the print is small compared to matting and frames, even do it yourself.

badly done stuff will be a bad advertisement.

pick only the best few and pay for them.
get the color profiles from Costco and make certain the color is good.

For exhibition you definitely want high quality prints, and high quality gallery presentation with the prints framed and matted behind high quality glazing.

badly done stuff will be a bad advertisement.

pick only the best few and pay for them.