What would you recommend?

pjvo19

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I am completely new to photography, I have absolutely no experience at all, snapping a picture with my phone camera is about the extent of it. However I have always been fascinated by photography.

I was wondering what kind of camera you would recommend to someone who:

Has very little experience.

Has a budget of $500.

And will mostly be taking pictures of pets and outdoor scenery/wildlife.

I have been looking at the Canon Powershot SX50hs. I like its zoom capabilities without the need different lenses. However I don't know how a close up picture, such as a picture of my pet snake, would turn out.

Thank you for any/all input!

Last edited by a moderator:
hi, look for the Nikon D3100 or the D3200.
They are very good entry level cameras that fits your budget.

Hi everyone,

I am completely new to photography, I have absolutely no experience at all, snapping a picture with my phone camera is about the extent of it. However I have always been fascinated by photography.

I was wondering what kind of camera you would recommend to someone who:

Has very little experience.

Has a budget of $500.

And will mostly be taking pictures of pets and outdoor scenery/wildlife.

I have been looking at the Canon Powershot SX50hs. I like its zoom capabilities without the need different lenses. However I don't know how a close up picture, such as a picture of my pet snake, would turn out.

Thank you for any/all input!

I've owned an SX50 myself, and while it's not a bad little camera the image quality just can't match a DSLR. The other drawback is that it really doesn't do well in low light situations, such as shooting indoors, without a flash. Outdoors in good daylight conditions it performs ok and the zoom is nice but I just wasn't happy with the image quality myself. I'd concur with ruifo, your best bet would probably be an D3100 or possibly a D3200.