1st practice natural light/outdoor portrait

RedWylder

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am practicing on a friend on doing natural light photography. Here's some of the better ones. The light was pretty harsh when taken directly into the sun. I don't have lightroom currently (my trial ran out) so these are completely unedited. Please help me work on my skills. What can I do to improve these?

DSC_0297.jpg

DSC_0349.jpg

DSC_0369.jpg

DSC_0381.jpg

DSC_0264.jpg

Thanks!

Bump? lol anyone? Can I assume by the lack of response that I am a master photographer and nothing needs to be improved? :lol:

i think all of em are out of focus.
and add a little bit of contrast coz it all looks flat.
just my 2 cents

Wow, you really picked pretty much the most difficult situation to "practice" with. Bright sun, snow, child.... Those elements are working hard against you in these photos.

Compositionally, 1, 2, and 4 are good. I like the fact that you got low, this is very important when photographing small children. The others really don't work for me.

Lighting. I know you were going for natural light, but in this case, you NEED some sort of a fill. Be it flash or reflector, you need something casting light on the face of your subject, especially with the super bright snowy background.

Keep at it.

p!nK

i think all of em are out of focus.
and add a little bit of contrast coz it all looks flat.
just my 2 cents

Focus appears soft, probably due to underexposure.

p!nK

I agree that editing will help but that's not an option as I have no editing software right now. As for the focus issue that is something I can work on. I'm having troubles getting a nice clear focus on the eyes. Is there something I can do to make this easier?

Wow, you really picked pretty much the most difficult situation to "practice" with. Bright sun, snow, child.... Those elements are working hard against you in these photos.