A Confused Newbie

Marvigal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to the DSLR world having made a death defying leap from the Nikon Coolpix L810 to a D7100. I've got the camera's menus all set up and have set myself the project of photographing my community in order to practice composition, lighting, getting to know my equipment, etc., etc. I was at a nearby park with new really innovative playground equipment and could not get a shot because I could not get far enough away from it -- a shortcoming of a DX sensor probably? These are the lenses I have (all Nikon DX): 18-140mm kit lens, 55-300mm, 35mm, 40mm macro. The shot I wanted was over my head. I even put the camera on the ground and still couldn't get it all in the shot. I had the 18-140mm lens on the camera. So, this is the question -- Do I need a smaller mm lens? If so, which of these three would be the better one to purchase:

Sigma 10-20mm; Tamron 10-24mm; Tokina 11-16mm, or maybe another one altogether???? The Nikon is just way too expensive for me, especially with all the other gear that I've had to purchase. My husband says, "Another lens????" I just cross my fingers behind my back and say "Sure, Honey. This'll be the last one." Of course, my nose grows a little longer.

I have stewed and stewed over this - read and reread what has been written in reviews and just gotten myself more and more confused, then realized I was really too ignorant about too many things to know what to do. HELP, please! Thank you for your assistance!

Last edited:
Another option would be to shoot a panorama and stitch the photo's together in post.

As far as the lenses go though I'm afraid I cant be much help as I'm in a similar dilemma with ultrawides.

For wide angle DX The Tokina 11-16 always gets excellent reviews.

I second the Tokina 11-16 2.8. I never owned it...but I did have the Tokina 12-24 f/4 and I loved that lens..very sharp and affordable.