a cool apartment on my street, first time photographing buildings

hyeunny

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, this is my first time taking architectural photography if you can even call this that. I've been walking past this place every day for over a year now on my way to school and to work, for whatever reason I finally decided to take a photo of it today. It looks pretty cool to my untrained eye, but I know virtually nothing about photographing buildings so I would really appreciate it if someone could chime in and tell me what things I should look for when photographing buildings and how to improve this image. In terms of autocritique I see that there seems to be some distortion due to the focal length I was using (35mm)? But I don't really know much about these technical aspects, I know that very wide angle focal lengths like 17mm generate a lot of distortion, but if someone can explain to me how that stuff works too that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all :) $DSC_2396.jpg

Well, I am no expert, but....

First order of business, the composition is off on this one. It feels cramped, and is way off kilter as far as perspective goes. The white building next door is very bright and distracting. I would try A. from another angle (or at least back up some) B. at a different time of day or C. both.

$DSC_2396-2.jpg
Is that a little bit better? (I adjusted the exposure of the building on the side) In terms of composition being cramped what would you suggest to remedy that? I couldn't step further away as there was a fence behind me, and a wider focal length probably would have introduced more distortion. Is this one of those weird situations where a tilt-shift comes in handy??

edit: I guess I could have taken the photograph head on to help with perspective, but I really wanted to show that cool little window on the side of the porch type thing