Advice on buying my first landscape lens?

mtk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I've been shooting a lot with my 50mm lens which was the first lens I've ever bought. However I have been shooting a lot of landscapes lately, and I think its time I get a lens specifically for that purpose. Does anyone have any advice on what is a good lens for me to purchase? Bear in mind I am still relatively new to photography, so the lens doesn't have to be that great (or expensive), but one that will do the trick and help me learn, much like the 50mm has helped me learn.

Any ideas or suggestions are much appreciated. I have a Canon EOS 550D by the way. Cheers

Suggesting a lens for landscape is a little tricky for me. I have a 16-35mm L IS, a 24-105mm L IS and a 70-200mm L IS and I find that I use them all for landscapes, with 24-105mm being the one that gets used the most. I use the wide end (24mm) for broad landscapes meant to show the "magnitude" of the "land" and I use the 105mm end for more "initimate" landscapes. I also use the 70-200mm for "intimate" landscapes as well. Depending on what it is that you want to shoot, then one of the EF-S 17-85 or the EF-S 18-135 or the EF-S 18-200 may do, then there is always the EF-S 55-250. So much depends on what type of landscape photography you want to do.