Amateur Hobbyist Looking for Suggestions on Lens

Jbrew011

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
I'm a amateur photographer and have been asked to do the photos for my cousins Quinceanera. I only have two lenses and a DX body so I'm looking to buy another lens for this type of shoot. I've read that the Sigma 18-35mm F/1.8 is really good for the DX bodies but I'm considering a 24-40mm f/2.8 because I might move to a FX eventually. Any suggestions for this would be greatly appreciated. I'll have plenty of room to backup if needed but will be working in low light more than likely. My equipment is listed below.

Nikon D5100
Nikon 50mm f/1.8
Nikon 70-300mm f/3.5-5.6
Nikon 18-55mm Kit Lens

My first question is what is wrong with the lenses you already have listed? While the glass you have is a bit on the slow side, with the exception of the 50mm, do you have an off camera flash that you could use. Fast glass is nice, and on some occasions like wedding and sports photography quite necessary. But for those other times adding additional light in the way of an off camera flash can be quite beneficial.

If you are set on a new lens, what is your price range that you want/need to stay in? This can effect your choice. As for the two lenses you mentioned I will let others give their opinions as I shoot Nikon. This however is a good site to read reviews from various lens owners. FM Reviews -

You could get a 35mm 1.8G and shoot with the 50, 35, and 18-55 at 18mm f3.5. That would give you the range you want. Not sure how fast you need to switch lenses around, but I could shoot for a whole day with a 35mm lens field of view on a crop sensor camera indoors and out.

I shoot with Sony DSLR and SLT. I am interested in the Tokina AT-X PRO SV 28-70mm f2.8 for similar reasons. The lens is discontinued, but is available for around $300.